Indian team for 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, no new faces

Indian team champion throphy

After the entire jeopardy, BCCI announced that India will play in ICC Champions trophy and on Monday it announced team India squad for the tournament. Earlier BCCI thought to oppose ICC decision by boycotting ICC Champions trophy which would leave ICC and other cricket boards in losses. But all of a sudden Supreme Court involved in the issue and appointed CoA.

The CoA members held a meeting with BCCI board representatives and ordered to announce the team as soon as possible. BCCI finally compromised with CoA and also with ICC and it also didn’t send any legal notices for ICC. The squad for Champions trophy is announced and there are no new faces. The same old team which recently played with Australia is announced.

Interestingly, Goutham Gambhir couldn’t make it to the team even though he made splendid performance in the ongoing IPL league. However there are hard rumors going on social media that board and captain Virat Kohli didn’t consider Gambhir with other intentions. We all know that there was a fight between Gambhir and Virat Kohli in a IPL match few years ago. Well it looks like Kohli is still having his ego and didn’t wanted Gambhir in the team.

Other players like Yuvraj Singh, Shikar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya rahane have made it to the final squad. All the players were seniors and once again Suresh raina is not considered for the upcoming Champions trophy. Shami will make a comeback after two years as he was injured and got treatment. Interestingly BCCI also announced a standby team of five members.

All the cricket boards have announced their teams a month ago and BCCI is the last to announce its official team for Champions trophy. The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy will be held at England and this will be a tuff tournament for India as playing in England is never easy.

Also Check : No Salaries for Indian cricket players since 6 months: Why?

Indian Team: Dhoni, Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikar Dhawan, Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Ashwin, Ravindra jadeja, Bumrah, Shami, Bhuvaneshwar kumar, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya and Manish Pandey.

Standby Team: Suresh Raina, Rishab Panth, Dinesh Karthik,  Kuldeep, and Shardul Takoor.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: